Facts about Andaman and Nicobar Islands (Union Territory)

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Andaman and Nicobar Islands comprises of two islands, namely, Andaman Island to the North and Nicobar Island to the South. It is a union territory.

It is actually a group of islands at the juncture of Andaman Sea and Bay of Bengal. These islands are separated from Burma and Thailand by the Andaman Sea.

Existence: It came into existence on 1st November 1956.

Boundary: It is surrounded by Andaman Sea and Bay of Bengal.

Population: As per Census 2011, the total population of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is 380,500.

Land Area: The total land area of Andaman and Nicobar Islands is 8,073 sq. km.

Language: Its Official Languages are Hindi and English whereas Bengali, Tamil, Telugu and Nicobarese are the widely spoken languages.

City: Port Blair is the Capital City of Andaman Island and also the Largest City of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. Car Nicobar also known as Malacca is the Capital City of Nicobar Island.

Districts: Andaman and Nicobar Islands are divided into 3 districts.

Connectivity: It is connected via waterways and airways. It has airport in Port Blair.

Places of Interest: The Cellular Jail, Marine Museum, etc. are some of the places where people like to visit.

You might also like
Leave A Reply