Features of Deccan Plateau

Feature of Deccan Plateau

  1. The Deccan Plateau lies to the south of the Satpura Range and extends up to Cape Comorin. It is of triangular shape.
  2. The Deccan Plateau is composed of some of the oldest crys­talline rocks. It lies within the framework of the Satpura-Mahadeo-Mahakala ranges in the north, the Sahyadris or the Western Ghats in the west and the Malayadri or the Eastern Ghats in the east.
  3. The plateau gently slopes towards the east.
  4. Its height varies from 300 meters to 900 meters above the sea level.
  5. The western edge of the Deccan Plateau is marked by the Western Ghats, The Sahyadri, the Nilgiri, the Annamalai and the Cardamom Hills are all collectively known as the Western Ghats. Overlooking the Arabian Sea, they run parallel to the West coast of India. Their average height goes on increasing from north to south. Anamudi (2,695 m) is the highest peak of the plateau.
  6. The eastern edge of the plateau is formed by the hills which are low and discontinuous. They are collectively known as the Eastern Ghats (Malayadri).
  7. Mahendragiri (1500 meters) forms the highest peak of the Eastern Ghats.
  8. Extending towards the south, the Western Ghats and the Eastern Ghats meet together at the Nilgiri Hills or the Blue Mountains.
  9. The highest peak of the Nilgiri is Dodabetta (2,637 m).
  10. The Anaimalai and the Cardamom Hills lie south of the Nilgiri Hills. The Anal Mudi in the Anaimalai Hills is the highest peak in the Deccan.
  11. There are several gaps and passes in the Western Ghats; the important ones are:  The Thal Ghat and the Bhor Ghat lie in the east of Mumbai and Pal Ghat lies in the south of the Nilgiri Hills. The north-western part of the Deccan plateau, covering almost the whole of Maharashtra and the parts of Gujarat and Madhya Pradesh, is formed by volcanic rocks called Deccan Trap. It is formed by lava flows and is consists of steps.
  12. According to its relief and other geographical conditions, the Deccan plateau may be sub-divided into sub-regions, such as, (i) the Maharashtra plateau, (ii) the Andhra Plateau and (iii) Karnataka Plateau. The Karnataka Plateau is the highest part of the Deccan plateaus.
You might also like
Leave A Reply