7 Major Rice Producing States in India

Major Rice Producing States

The major rice-producing states in India falls in the regions of the middle and lower Ganga plains and the coastal lowlands of the peninsular India.

Rice is grown in almost all the states of India. But its cultivation is mainly concentrated in river valleys, deltas and low lying coastal areas.

The main rice producing states are:

West Bengal,
Uttar Pradesh,
Andhra Pradesh,
Tamil Nadu,
Rice is a staple food in many parts of India. These states produce more than half of the country’s total output.

1. West Bengal

Among the rice producing states, West Bengal is by far the most important producer and ranks the leading position, accounting for about 15 per cent of the total quantity of rice produced in India. The major rice producing districts in the state are Bardhaman, Medinipur, North and South 24 Parganas.

2. Uttar Pradesh:

It occupies the second position in rice production. The important rice producing districts of Uttar Pradesh are Kheri, Pilibhit and Bahraich.

3. Andhra Pradesh:

Andhra Pradesh ranks third in the production